Annie John: A Novel (English Edition)

img_top

Amazon.co.jpで詳しくみる

商品説明

エディション:Reprint

Kindle本(キンドル)

ページ数:162ページ

電子書籍

発売日:[平成9年]1997年6月30日(月曜日) 7936日[約21年]前です

リリース日:[平成9年]1997年6月30日(月曜日) 7936日[約21年]前です

レビュー

(内容紹介より引用)

Annie John is a haunting and provocative story of a young girl growing up on the island of Antigua. A classic coming-of-age story in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, Kincaid's novel focuses on a universal, tragic, and often comic theme: the loss of childhood. Annie's voice—urgent, demanding to be heard—is one that will not soon be forgotten by readers.

An adored only child, Annie has until recently lived an idyllic life. She is inseparable from her beautiful mother, a powerful presence, who is the very center of the little girl's existence. Loved and cherished, Annie grows and thrives within her mother's benign shadow. Looking back on her childhood, she reflects, "It was in such a paradise that I lived." When she turns twelve, however, Annie's life changes, in ways that are often mysterious to her. She begins to question the cultural assumptions of her island world; at school she instinctively rebels against authority; and most frighteningly, her mother, seeing Annie as a "young lady," ceases to be the source of unconditional adoration and takes on the new and unfamiliar guise of adversary. At the end of her school years, Annie decides to leave Antigua and her family, but not without a measure of sorrow, especially for the mother she once knew and never ceases to mourn. "For I could not be sure," she reflects, "whether for the rest of my life I would be able to tell when it was really my mother and when it was really her shadow standing between me and the rest of the world."

(引用ここまで)
カスタマーレビューを開く
 (Amazon.co.jp) 

その他情報

  • ランキング
年月最高順位最低順位
2019年3月
2018年9月
この記事のPDF文書があります PDF文書をダウンロードする
Amazon.co.jpで詳しくみる

タイトルワードで探す